Dauntless - Wordless Wednesday

Book cover image of Dauntless by Dina L. Sleiman
(c.) 2015 by Bethany House Publishing
Today, my Wordless Wednesday feature is "WoW" or Waiting on Wednesday, a weekly blog link-up hosted by Breaking the Spine.

Title: Dauntless (Valiant Hearts #1)
Author: Dina L. Sleiman
Publication Date: March3, 2015 - Bethany House Publishing

About the Book:
"Born a baron's daughter, Lady Merry Ellison is now an enemy of the throne after her father's failed assassination attempt upon the king. Bold and uniquely skilled, she is willing to go to any lengths to protect the orphaned children of her former village--a group that becomes known as 'The Ghosts of Farthingale Forest.' Merry finds her charge more difficult as their growing notoriety brings increasing trouble their way.

Timothy Grey, ninth child of the Baron of Greyham, longs to perform some feat so legendary that he will rise from obscurity and earn a title of his own. When the Ghosts of Farthingale Forest are spotted in Wyndeshire, where he serves as assistant to the local earl, he might have found his chance. But when he comes face-to-face with the leader of the thieves, he's forced to reexamine everything he's known.
"
Why I'm "WoW" about Dauntless:
Because in my humble opinion, there is never enough medieval-styled worlds in Christian YA.  =P   According to her blog, Sleiman was inspired to write this book when watching BBC's Robin Hood series.  Her publisher's book announcement called the protagonist, Merry, " ... a stong heroine in the tradition of Katniss Everdeen and Tris Prior."  Perhaps to be taken with a grain of salt, but I'm definitely sold by the book cover alone --it's gorgeous!  I may have to put Merry on my list of characters costumes to recreate ... *wink*
Also, that title!  Anyway ... I can't wait until I get my copy!  Curious to learn more?  You can read an excerpt here.

Are there any book releases you can't wait for?  What do you think about Dauntless?




Dauntless - Wordless Wednesday Dauntless - Wordless Wednesday Reviewed by The Artist Librarian on 2/25/2015 02:42:00 PM Rating: 5

6 comments:

  1. Love the cover and the summary. This is just one of six books I plan to read that are published on March 3rd. Wh-wh-what do I do? Read six books in one day? :) Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, my --six books! I guess if you've pre-ordered them all and they came in on the 3rd ... It might be doable. Or, spread it out an read one a day. =)

      Delete
  2. I think this, Dauntless would be one my granddaughter, Laurel would really love. A book that I can't wait for is The Decision by Wanda Brunstetter. Thanks for the review.
    Maxie > mac262(at)me(dot)com <

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh, I haven't read a lot of Amish fiction --which of Wanda Brunstetter's books would you recommend?

      Delete
  3. I love the cover of this one. The review is great and I would really love to read it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Glad it caught your eye. I'm really looking forward to reading it. =)

      Delete

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! Comments are always welcomed and appreciated. In respect for others, please keep your comments PG/"family friendly" =)

Popular Posts

Unless otherwise noted, all material and images © The Artist Librarian, 2014 - 2015. Powered by Blogger.